See Ya Later, Sugar

I started the sugar weaning process today. After too many weeks of enjoying holiday cookies and candies, as well as jumping back on the soda wagon… it’s got to stop. GPP starts their Sugar Detox Challenge on Monday, but Neil has suggested making it a little less painful by weaning yourself off the addicting stuff, rather than going cold turkey.

So that’s how my day has been. How’s yours going?

I thought I’d show you what I ate today because I haven’t done that in a long time. Something else I haven’t done in far too long is play with my DSLR camera. So, I pulled that out, too.

simple oatmea 

Breakfast was a simple bowl of oatmeal, cooked in the microwave.

  • 1/2 cup quick cooking oats
  • Sprinkle of chia seeds
  • 1/2 banana
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter (contains added sugar)
  • 1 cup water

Most mornings I have a cup of plain Greek yogurt with some cereal or oatmeal, banana, chia seeds, PB2 and cinnamon added. It’s a habit I got into with the Skin In The Game Challenge that I’ve just kept up with. Easy way to get in a bunch of protein and stay full for a while.

Today I was just feeling something different.

coffee and water

I’m working on rebuilding some good health habits, including getting my gallon of water in daily, so I challenged myself to get in 24 ounces (a Contigo bottle) of water before touching any coffee or tea. Success!

IMG_20140104_131247 IMG_20140104_130131

Most of the day was pretty lazy, but I did manage to complete .2 Continuing Education Credits (CECs) for renewing my ACE Personal Trainer certification at the end of this month. Just like a lot of other professions, I need a certain amount off CECs to be elligible to renew my certification—ACE requires 2.0. I’m almost finished with them… only .2 to go! On Monday, Jeremy and I will be renewing our CPR/AED certification. Lots of learning going on around here these days!

deer in the headlights link goose is a lady  link and magus laying around link

While I was studying, the boys were enjoying the sweet sunshine we were blessed with today. Both of the dogs love sunbathing… there is a noticeable uptick in their attitude and happiness when it is sunny.

I took a study break in the middle of my course to eat lunch.

sandwich apple pickles

Most days I have a sandwich with cheese and a piece of fruit. It’s an affordable, easy option that doesn’t require much time or effort to prepare. Today I also had some pickles—my father-in-law made these with cucumbers raised from his garden. They are so good.

mexican casserole

Jeremy’s Dad made Mexican Casserole for dinner tonight and invited us to have some. We had actually planned something really similar to make, but it didn’t really make sense to make it when there was basically the same thing already cooked with plenty to spare.

chobani cheese snack

Later this evening I had a Chobani (that does have added sugar—I know) and a cheese stick.

I also decided to have a small ice cream cone. I had been craving sugar like crazy all day long since I wasn’t munching on candy or sipping on soda, so I decided to have this small indulgence. Still an improvement… but goal for tomorrow is even less sugar.

I’m going to sip some tea for the rest of the night and probably enjoy a movie with my husband.

Please leave a comment! I love hearing your thoughts.

