Hiding out in Kentucky

Hey guys! It’s been over a month since my last blog post because as soon as we returned to Michigan after spending Thanksgiving with our families, it was time to pack! Jeremy and I had two weeks to organize and pack up our entire apartment before moving back to Kentucky (until Jeremy finds a post-Masters job). But really, Jeremy was studying, completing projects, and writing papers during this time… so I did 95% of the packing and dismantling of furniture.

IMG_20131206_153345 IMG_20131212_185526

Thankfully, we were able to get everything into our U-Haul and got moved home without any incidence. Since returning back to Kentucky over a week ago, we’ve just been settling in and getting ourselves sorted. We’re currently living with my husband’s mother and father until we have a better idea of what our future holds.

IMG_20131202_144844 IMG_20131217_103611

I purchased an Olympic weight set a few weeks ago off Craigslist for a great price and we moved it back with us. My father-in-law has been kind enough to allow me to use the garage for my workouts. I can do about 90% of the GPP stuff I want to do—just need to build/buy a squat rack. The garage is chilly at the beginning of the workout, but usually by the time I’m done I’ve ditched my over shirt and end up in a tank top.

I’m sure it will get colder as the months go on, but I feel blessed to have the space to lift weights after living in Japan for 3 years and having almost no room and definitely no heavy weights.

IMG_20131223_142151 

The job search will begin soon (probably after the Holidays), but in the meantime, I’m continuing to do some freelance work for the gym I previously worked for, as well as wanting to begin some private personal and group training. I also have some CECs I’m working on finishing up to complete my personal training recertification in January 2014. I can’t believe I’ve already been certified for two years.

IMG_20131221_111811

And in case you’re wondering, the dogs are doing wonderful. They’re quite comfortable and enjoying the slightly warmer weather in Kentucky. It’s great to be able to get back to walking them daily, too, now that we have the time.

Please leave a comment! I love hearing your thoughts.

