What I Ate Wednesday: Handstand and Fast 5K

Before I share with you today’s eats, I have to share THIS:

my first handstand

My first “all by myself” handstand

Yesterday’s GPP workout called for HSPU (handstand pushups). On Monday night my husband helped me practice just getting up into a handstand—let alone the pushups. It was tragic to see me trying so hard and getting nowhere fast. Please trust me when I say you would have laughed your ass off at me… because it was the farthest thing from a handstand.

One of the trainers at my gym helped me learn to not freak out about being upside down. He kept catching my legs, while I held myself in handstand position. I came home from work and kept practicing until something clicked and I DID IT. My first unassisted handstand. No handstand pushups, but I’ll take it!

 

Today was a VERY active day. I ran a 5K before work, did my regular GPP workout, and then taught a spin class in the evening. Very active=lots of fuel.
 

fit mixer clean energymorning oatmeal

My gym hosted a 5K fun run this morning—it was free to all, but started at 5:30 AM. I’m not a morning person, so I really needed some help getting moving this morning. Fit Mixer to the rescue. Really digging this Clean Energy mix because it gives me some quick caffeine, but also tastes like a cherry Jolly Rancher.

Had a bowl of really simple oatmeal (Breakfast #1) before the run. I can’t run on an empty stomach.

my fastest 5k race ever

Kicked ass on the run (my fastest 5K ever!) and came home and crashed for a few hours.

bite out of toast

When I woke up, I made a piece of Ezekiel cinnamon toast with almond butter (Breakfast #2) before heading back to the gym for my GPP workout.
 
After finishing up my workout, I grabbed my first snack of the day from my lunchbox, which I packed last night.
 
packed lunch
 
I threw the following into a blender at work to make a Green Monster:
  • Body Logix Vanilla Ice Cream protein powder (1 scoop)
  • Designer Whey French Vanilla protein powder (1 scoop)
  • 1/2 banana and 2 handfuls fresh spinach
  • 1 scoop Amazing Grass
  • 2 T PB2 (powdered peanut butter)
  • 1/2 T chia seeds
  • handful of ice

green smoothie

Looks gross, but I swear it tastes amazing. Easy way to get some greens in, too.

lunch

A few hours and a few Zumba auditions later, it was time for lunch. Today I had a turkey+guacamole+Laughing Cow sandwich on Ezekiel bread with an apple and a pack of almonds from Trader Joe’s. Felt good and full after this lunch, but also very satisfied.

chobani and strawberries

About an hour before I taught my Spinning class this evening I grabbed my final snack for the work day. I started with a few strawberries and some black cherry Chobani.

vega one bar

I also had this Vega One all-in-one bar (chocolate almond flavor) while getting ready for class. The Chobani and strawberries was great. This bar was just meh. I wouldn’t mind eating another of these bars, but I don’t think they are something I’d spend my own money on. The flavor just didn’t knock my socks off and there are a lot of bars that I do LOVE the flavor of.

papa john

After work and teaching class, I headed home fully intending to cook dinner at home. Tonight, though, my husband wasn’t feeling the dinner we had planned and, to be honest, not cooking sounded great. We compromised on take-out pizza. This falls into 20% of my “diet” being whatever the hell I want. Tonight I wanted pizza. Went back for a 3rd slice.

Took the dog on a walk after dinner—I’m so glad the weather is nice enough that we can do that almost every evening now.

Today was an abnormally active day for me. Typically on Wednesdays I do my own workout in the morning and teach Spinning at night. Today’s 5K run and Zumba auditions were spur of the moment activities. I do realize I am more active than most people… I do work at a gym after all. I do my best to eat with this in mind, making sure I get enough nutrition and calories to fuel my active lifestyle.

7 comments

    1. Ezekiel bread is made from sprouted grains instead of flour, so it has more protein than regular bread. It also digests easier and has very few preservatives (so I freeze mine to keep it longer and just throw it in the toaster oven on low to unfreeze it).

      The Fit Mixer clean energy contains green coffee extract (caffeine) so it helps me wake up in the morning, or if I am taking it in the middle of a workout it helps me keep my energy high… it has raspberry ketones (supposed to help your workout burn more fat–not sure if I buy into that and I don’t care about that too much), too.

  1. Congrats on the 5K PR! Super jealous! Since you have introduced your readers (myself included) to GPP, I therefor consider you a GPP expert & will probably bug you with questions regarding daily workouts now :) Like yesterday’s workout–do you have any recommendations for replacing the weighted plate for dumbbells? Or any suggestions for replacing pullups with something else? I don’t go to a gym & like to workout at home with either body weight alone or dumbbells/kettle-bells/stretchy bands.

    1. You could just swap out the plates for dumbbells on that particular workout, in my opinion. I don’t care a bit to answer your questions, but I typically only check this in the evenings. Honestly, just post to the comments on GPP’s site for that day’s workout and I (or another vet) will answer pretty quickly.

  2. Hi! I just found your blog. I am interested in becoming a Spin teacher at some point. My question is, what certifications did you get to become a teacher, and how did you first get started teaching classes? Thanks so much!

    1. I am not “certified” in spinning. I went to an AFAA spinning all-day workshop and received a certificate of completion. If you need a spinning certification to teach at clubs you are thinking about, you might check out Mad Dog Spinning. I teach for the gym where I am already employed otherwise.

Please leave a comment! I love hearing your thoughts.

