Fast running and good eating

March is almost over and I’ve really been amping up my running lately. But seriously, good riddance to March because it’s been cold, snowy, and busy!

This morning was my longest run since last October, when I was in the middle of marathon training. I’ve been adding a little bit more mileage each weekend and had worked my way up to being ready to run 5 miles this morning.

I could never have imagined what those 5 miles would look like.

fast5miles

My first mile was around 9:16, which I thought was going to be a huge mistake. I definitely thought I’d gone out too fast and was going to have wrecked the rest of the run. Wrong.

The second mile was around 9:08 and it seems that my miles just got faster from there. I have no idea where this fast 5 miles came from—heck, I didn’t even know I was capable of running a sub-9 minute/mile run. But apparently I am. Just makes me wonder what else I am capable of that I don’t know about…

The coolest thing about this run though was how fantastic my legs felt during and even afterwards. It was the best feeling to feel strong enough to run fast and not be injured afterward. Thank you, GPP and all the HIIT workouts I’ve been doing.

bananachobani

Had some banana Chobani with cinnamon and ground flaxseed immediately after the run to get some protein in my body. (Also had a sandwich later when my stomach was ready for it.)

secondlunch

The only other notable meal today was the salad I chose at Panera Bread when my husband and I swung in mid-grocery shopping trip. He hadn’t ate lunch yet and I was ready for round 2 of lunch after my morning run. Above is the Spinach Power salad—minus the mushrooms. It was very satisfying, which is something I rarely say about a salad.

The day is almost over, but I’m still riding the high from my speedy run. I’m currently training for a 10K in May and according to the McMillian Running Calculator I could do it in a little over 55 minutes based on today’s pace… my goal has always just been to beat 60 minutes in the 10K, so to shatter it by 5 minutes would be magical!

IMG_20130323_200340

Time to unwind with some Zevia (love it!) and my current read, Ryan Hall’s Running With Joy (can’t put it down).

Please leave a comment! I love hearing your thoughts.

