Real Food Commitment

Currently reading:

image

(LOVE using the Kindle app for my android and computer, by the way.)

I started In Defense of Food two days ago, and I’m already about 1/4 of the way through. I love everything about food—cooking it, eating it, and especially reading about it. In fact, when I decided to become a personal trainer I had a difficult time deciding between training or going back to school for a degree in dietetics. I still want to further my certification to include nutrition someday.

The reason I’m writing about this book is because #1: I think you should go read it if you haven’t already. And #2: It’s inspired and motivated me to get back to eating clean, whole food. NOT the food-like substances that are ever-present in the supermarket, but real food.

When my husband and I first moved to Japan I ate very clean—mostly because I couldn’t read the ingredients on any packages and was nervous to purchase stuff I didn’t recognize. The result? I was happy, healthy, and dropped quite easily to a natural weight that was easy to maintain. Unfortunately, as my comfort with reading Japanese food labels grew, so did the amount of processed food in  my shopping cart. The result? I’m still happy, but I’m definitely no longer at a natural, healthy weight for my body (though I’m getting there…).

I miss enjoying the simplicity of REAL, WHOLE food. I miss making things by hand—the foods I learned to make myself in those first few months in Japan range from tortillas, applesauce, and granola bars, to soups. Experimenting in the kitchen was fun! Why did I stop?!?

But, like I mentioned, a lot of this has gone away. Instead of grabbing fruit as a snack, I reach for a processed bar. Instead of eating a huge salad for lunch, I grab whatever is quickest.

My pledge: to return to clean eating! With the exception of one meal dining out each week and one sweet treat, I will stick with real food. Food that has ingredients I recognize and can explain. I will honor my hunger and eat when my body sends the signal and that food will be REAL.

Anyone else want to join?

IMG_20120504_180041

Oh look, real food for dinner! :)

2 comments

  1. I’m always curious as to how people who are in nutrition perceive his work. What do you think about his criticism on looking to nutritionism for a guide to healthy eating?

    1. Keep in mind that I don’t have any certification or degree in nutrition–it’s just an interest of mine. But I do think Pollan has some good points to make about nutritionism. We’re still learning a lot about food. I don’t think you can really say what exactly it is about certain foods that make them good for us–the minute we seem to know, another source will find an opposing conclusion. I think the best thing to do is just enjoy food in it’s whole state as much as possible and eat lots of fruits and vegetables! :)

Please leave a comment! I love hearing your thoughts.

