A different approach to strength training

Since realizing I have a stress fracture in my foot (and consequently, won’t be running for a while), I’ve turned to weight lifting and strength training.

Now, as a personal trainer I KNOW the importance of resistance training, ESPECIALLY for women. But the truth is that I’ve never fallen in love with lifting weights. Sure, it makes me stronger and makes my body look better, but I’ve always found it to be incredibly boring and too repetitive. Running, however, I could do every single day and not get tired of it. Don’t ask me how… I don’t know.

I’m having a change of heart. For the last three weeks I’ve been consistently strength training 2-3 times a week, in addition to other exercise. And I AM LOVING IT! I know, I know… I’m shocked, too. So, what’s different this time? I’ve been switching my routine up every workout—I realized one of the things I hated most about strength training was going through the same moves over and over and over… so I’m not doing that. Instead, I’m taking a more “Crossfit” type approach in the sense that I’ll eventually circle back around to do the same workout, but it won’t be for a few months.

Another thing I’ve found is that I need a specific goal to work toward. Having goals is one thing that keeps running fresh for me, so why should lifting be any different? Right now my goal is to work up to 20 pushups (on toes) in a row. I can currently do 12, but was maxing out at 7 just three weeks ago. Progress, not perfection, friends!

I realize this isn’t the way most strength training programs work. Most folks like a structured program that they can know what to expect from and stick with… but that’s not my bag. In fact, I DREAD a stiffly-structured program and want to rebel as soon as I try to begin one. But trying something new everyday, whether it’s a circuit-style workout or a DVD, that makes me excited to wake up and get moving!

Some of my workouts come from YouTube, Pinterest, and blogs, but I’m also having a lot of fun putting together different styles of strength workouts myself. These are what I post for Monday Movement—and I always give them a go myself before posting a workout!

(P.S. I’m feeling stronger, leaner, and more confident by the day!!!)

One comment

  1. I too could run everyday and find lifting weights a bit bland–maybe I’ll find my change of heart soon! I’m getting jealous of all these women’s cut arms I’m seeing as the weather is getting warmer! Lol

Please leave a comment! I love hearing your thoughts.

